Leadership Team


Do you sometimes wonder why these men and women make time to “do the work” of the church here at Water Street Church? Ephesians 4:11-13

Our Church Staff Team

pastor kasey vanderveen

We welcome our transitional pastor, Pastor Kasey, who has taken on a leadership role here at Water Street Church as of September 1, 2022. Pastor Kasey is an ordained pastor in the Christian Reformed Church of North America (CRCNA). Pastor Kasey’s stay has been extended for another year, for which we are grateful!!

Pastor Kasey: “I have undergone training to be a Specialized Transitional Minister in the CRCNA, which means that I go to churches who do not currently have a pastor and who want or need to navigate one or more transitional changes in their culture. Navigating such changes tends to take 12 – 24 months after which we move on to the next church. Liz and I waited until we became empty nesters before embarking on this new direction in ministry but are enjoying it so far.”

Eve Mazereeuw
Office Administrator

Trudy Mafe-van Halem

Anita Melancon

Harry van de Hoef:
Operations Coordinator

God has greatly blessed me and my family and now I am retired after a 42 year career in animal breeding with responsibility for production, technical service and special projects. It is my pleasure to share the things I learned and to help apply them in the day to day operations of our church. I am honored that I can serve our church in this capacity during daytime hours to assist those who are working and can only be available in the evening hours. I pray that in our daily efforts to run the church I will show others that I KNOW God, FOLLOW Jesus and SERVE our world.

Neil Klapwyk:
AV Director

Neil is our AV guru. He focuses on the production of and technical oversight of the audiovisual equipment and programs at Water Street Church. He also administers the church Sharepoint system to keep the “machinery” of the church ticking along so that the leadership teams stays informed and connected. You’ll often find him in the AV booth making sure all systems are “go.”

Our Church Council

Water Street Church is blessed with faithful and dedicated volunteers who take time to participate in the governance of our church.


Jean Wolting: Clerk of Council

Peter Kingma: Elder and Chair of Elders (District 5)

Ed Kuipery

Ed Kuipery: Elder (District 6); Liaison to Board of Stewards

Xuidong He: Elder (District 3)


Henny Hilverda: Elder (Districts 1 and 4)

Phil Schmidt: Elder (District 2)

Jason Stoter

Jason Stoter: Elder and Chair of Council


Marguerite Ridder: Elder, Prayer Ministry Coordinator (Task Elder)


News from the Deacons March 2023


Sharon McLean: Deacon, Secretary (District 3); liaison to Safe Church. Sharon also connects with Shawna, our Disability Concerns Advocate, and is active in our Friendship ministry.

Willy Kooy: Deacon (District 4)

Bill Smedes: Deacon (District 5)

photo Barb

Barb van de Hoef: Deacon (District 6), Treasurer

Karryne Vriesema: Deacon (District 2), Chair of Deacons


Matthew Zevenbergen: Deacon (District 1), Liaison Young Adults